Chunky Sweetcorn, Butter Bean and Red Pepper Chowder – vegan

Chunky Sweetcorn, butter Bean and Red Pepper Chowder - vegan

This soup makes good use of cheap supermarket value range frozen sweetcorn as well as the humble old spud, a vegetable which I never tire of using in any season.

You can often get multi-packs of peppers from the supermarket value range too; if like me you’re not too concerned about what colour and shape they are then these store well in the fridge and can be used in lots of dishes from salads to fajitas to bean burgers and more.

It’s not strictly necessary to use the cream, you could just as easily use your regular plant milk, but I do like Oatly oat cream for its neutral flavour in savoury vegan cooking and it is a bit creamier than milk. I currently pick it up for 75p a carton in Tesco, though you can also get it in H&B as well as Ocado too (see HERE for price comparisons).

Butter beans add a nice chunky texture and I often use them in dishes instead of chicken or fish. Needless to say they are cheaper than either (in particular the East End brand are a good buy so look out for those in larger Tesco’s) and they pack a healthy protein punch to boot, especially when combined with the sweetcorn.

This is already a hearty soup, but if you want to make it into a more substantial main meal, then it pairs rather well with cornbread; I’ll be updating with a vegan recipe for ‘chilli cheeze cornbread’ at some point in the future.

.

Chunky Sweetcorn, Butter Bean and Red Pepper Chowder

  • 30 g margarine (I use Pure sunflower)
  • 1 large onion, finely chopped
  • 2 sticks celery, finely chopped
  • 1 large or 2 small red peppers, diced (any colour will do)
  • 500 ml vegetable stock
  • 1/2 tsp white pepper
  • 500 g potatoes, peeled and cut into 1/2″ cubes
  • 3 x US cups frozen sweetcorn kernels
  • 1 x 400 g butter beans, drained
  • 1 x 250 ml carton Oatly oat cream (or any plant milk)
  • 2 rounded tbsp plain white flour
  • Handful fresh parsley, finely chopped (I get mine from my herb patch)
  1. Melt margarine in a large pan on the hob. Add chopped onions and celery. Sweat for about five minutes.
  2. Add red pepper, sweat for another five minutes.
  3. Add chopped potatoes, sweetcorn, butter beans, white pepper and stock.
  4. Bring to the boil, reduce heat and put on lid. Simmer for ten minutes.
  5. Mix flour into oat cream, stir into chowder. Bring back to the boil, reduced heat and put on lid. Simmer for a further ten minutes or until potatoes are tender.
  6. Serve sprinkled with parsley if liked.

NOTE: If you prefer your chowder more thick and creamy just add a little extra flour with the cream, or partially blitz with a hand held immersion blender once cooked.

3 thoughts on “Chunky Sweetcorn, Butter Bean and Red Pepper Chowder – vegan

  1. This looks delish! I’ve never seen or heard of oat cream but I do of course have lots of plant milk 😀
    This is definitely on my list of recipes for the future!

    • I’m using up sweetcorn at the mo’ as I’ve inadvertently got too much in the freezer. I don’t know how much it costs in Aus, but I can buy a kilo of ‘value’ frozen sweetcorn for 99p at my regular supermarket. I don’t think it works in everything (I’ve had it in lasagne for example, and nope) but luckily there are lots of traditional US recipes like this to draw on.

      • Oh it’s much dearer than that but still quite affordable in frozen bags, especially if I score a special. I do love corn! And so do my rats 😀

Leave a Reply

