Fruit & Nut Breakfast Brown Rice – vegan

Fruit & Nut Breakfast Brown Rice - vegan

Reboot of an old recipe which I’ve adjusted since I posted it the first time.

Unsurprisingly, brown rice pudding isn’t as creamy as the white pudding rice variety but it is nutty and delicious, especially if aided and abetted by juicy dried fruits, nuts and the fragrant notes of pudding spice. Like many of my wholefood staples, I buy my brown rice online at Goodness Direct (see HERE) where you can obtain a hefty 3 kg bag of lovely short grain Italian brown rice for (at the time of typing this) the very reasonable price of £5

I like this wholegrain pudding best served for breakfast and will often prepare a batch on Sunday for the week ahead. Once cooked, it will stay good for several days if stored covered in the fridge.

FRUIT & NUT BREAKFAST BROWN RICE

Ingredients:

1 cup Short Grain Brown Rice (uncooked volume), cooked until tender (I do mine for 25 mins)

1 tsp Natural Vanilla or Almond Flavouring.

2 & 1/2 cups Milk (I use unsweetened soya)

1/2 cup Dried Fruit

1/2 cup Chopped Nuts (or desiccated coconut, hemp hearts or flaked almonds)

6 – 8 tbsp Liquid Sweetener (eg: maple syrup, brown rice syrup etc.)

1 tsp Ground Pudding Spice

Method:

– Put all the ingredients into a large lidded pan on the stove (I use the one I cooked my rice in).

– Bring to the boil, while stirring.

– Reduce the heat and put on the lid. Simmer for about 30 mins, stirring occasionally.

– Best left to cool for a while before serving (it will thicken up a little).

Serves 4 – 5

Leave a Reply

