Simple Muesli Granola Cereal

Simple Muesli Granola Cereal

I find muesli a pretty useful store cupboard ingredient, it’s filling, healthy and it goes a long way. If you look around you can find it quite cheaply available (HERE for example you can get 1kg for a little over a quid). Naturally it’s good for breakfast with some soya milk (I also get my soya milk quite cheaply HERE) but sometimes I get bored of muesli just as it is, so then I like to make it more interesting by turning it into little breakfast muffins, cookies, muesli bars, muesli loaf, or granola (aka ‘crunchy cereal’ as I’m used to thinking of it here in the UK).

If you use muesli as a base for granola then there are fewer other ingredients to have to include; as most of your fruit and nuts will already be there. I do like to add sunflower seeds though, a) because I love their nuttiness and b) because I often get these cheaply in bulk and always have plenty available; I get mine for £2.70 a kilo HERE.

Where a plain oil is called for such as in pan frying or baking, I frequently use rapeseed oil. Like olive, being low in Omega 6 means rapeseed oil’s omega ratios are better than many alternatives (see HERE). If you can’t easily find cheap rapeseed oil on the supermarket shelf (there are quite a few good quality cold pressed or organic products available now, but they are pricier), just look on the ingredients list of generic ‘vegetable oil’, and you’ll probably find it there; just not advertised as such on the label (see HERE for example).

I do eat honey, and get it from the ‘basics’ range of the supermarket for use in baking and hot drinks. Of course there are a number of vegan alternatives available now for those who prefer not to. I’m a big fan of maple syrup too, though tend to use less of it due to it being typically more expensive.

Stored in an airtight glass jar, crunchy granola should last for weeks. It doesn’t usually get to in our house though..

Simple Crunchy Cereal

3 US cups muesli
1 US cup sunflower seeds
6 Tbsp rapeseed oil (or ‘vegetable oil’)
6 Tbsp preferred liquid sweetener (eg: maple syrup or honey)
1 heaped tsp ground spice (I like ginger or cinnamon)

Add the honey and oil to a large heavy bottomed pan and heat gently.
Stir in all the other ingredients and coat them thoroughly in the syrup
Spread the mix out over a greased baking tray.
Bake at about 170C for ten minutes. Remove tray and stir, turning the browned bits over.
Return for another ten minutes. Turn again. Return to oven for a final five to ten minutes.
Take out of oven and stir about, then leave to cool.
Crumble gently into smallish clusters and store in an airtight jar.

5 thoughts on “Simple Muesli Granola Cereal

  1. oh you read my mind! I was just thinking the other day I’m SO sick of seeing granola recipes because here in Australia nuts are only for those who don’t care what they spend and I can’t afford to make it. A kilo of nuts averages about $24 and goes up to over $30, so naturally I’m not going to be making granola with all the nuts people use. Seeds aren’t much cheaper.
    I wonder if there’s a cheaper way to make this and voila! Here’s your post! I got a big cheap bag of muesli for my rats but it looks really nice. I’m going to granola it! Thank you 🙂

    • Lots of granola recipes (and muesli bar recipes) require heap loads more fruits and nuts than I typically stock too, especially the posh stuff like goji berries and chia seeds; even though my whole-food pantry is pretty well stocked. I especially keep nuts down as I’m not able to bulk buy like I am beans and grains, simply because I wouldn’t manage to work through the volume before they went bad and rancid nuts are vile. As they’re probably the cheapest nut or seed going over here, sunflower seeds are an exception to the rule and so I use them a lot in everything (salad, pesto, spread, pilaf, nut roast etc.). I get mine for £2.70 a kilo (for 3k), and although I’m unsure of the exchange rate between Aus and the UK, that’s a lot cheaper than what you’re talking about. However smaller 150g bags of nuts would work out closer (eg: £12 – £20 a kilo, depending on what they are and where you shop).

  2. If you use musli in a pack from the supermarket: doesn’t the fruit (esp. raisins) burn during baking? I’ve always added fruit afterwards because I’m afraid of that, but this would make it more convenient (not having to buy expensive nuts, seeds etc in separate bags).

    • I stir regularly and cook on a lowish heat to try to prevent the fruit from burning. Raisins on the surface of the tray may get a little ‘chewier’ but I haven’t had problems with burning so far. I do keep a close watch during the latter part of baking too.

  3. I just bought a huge sack from goodness direct … the Rich Fruit Muesli … works a treat as they say cooked into our morning oatmeal …

Leave a Reply

