Carob, Oat and Date Smoothie – vegan

carob oat smoothie

A simple breakfast meal in a drink: smoothies are fast, easy and good for you too! I’ve recently begun adding oats to mine, and I find them to be particularly good for ensuring that your tum stays content until lunchtime!

Once made you can either drink straight away or leave for a few minutes for the oats to bulk the smoothie up into a thick shake.

If you happen to have some pleasant morning sunshine like I did today, take your smoothie into the garden and enjoy while watching the bees busying about the flowers 🙂

Carob, Oat and Date Smoothie – vegan

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana, sliced
  • 1/2 pint / 300 ml non-dairy milk (I use unsweetened soya)
  • 2 – 3 dried dates, soaked overnight (alternatively use 1 tbsp maple syrup)
  • 1/4 cup rolled porridge oats
  • 1 rounded tbsp carob powder

Method:

  1. Place all ingredients in a blender or food processor and blitz until smooth and creamy; I do mine for two minutes.
  2. That’s it!
9 thoughts on “Carob, Oat and Date Smoothie – vegan

    • Most peeps tend to think of carob as a ‘chocolate substitute’ but you know what, it’s its own thing! I have chocolate when I want chocolate and carob when I want carob. It’s got more of a roasty coffee edge to it than chocolate and I find it less cloying somehow which is why I like it for breakfast.

  1. I make a similar smoothy using maple syrup instead of dates because I don’t like dates! 😦

    Your smoothies look so tasty! xxx I am also a big carob lover! It doesn’t give me any headaches like cacao does! 😉

  2. This looks absolutely delicious! I’m a huge fan of breakfast smoothies/shakes. As well as oats and ground almonds, I tend to add 1T of chia seeds. This not only adds an omega-3 boost, but I find the chia seeds leave you feeling full up for hours. They blend completely smooth and creamy, so great for drinks and chocolate desserts 😉

    • Chia seeds are a new one on me, I’ve only just caught up with ground flaxseed! I’ll have to order a small amount next time I do an online wholefoods shop.

    • I have this all the time as it’s so easy – I also chuck a tablespoon of ground flax in sometimes. Thanks for commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

