Courgette, Pea and Mint Soup (vegan) – with a bit of a Waffly Preamble

Courgette, pea and mint soup

Apologies to those who may subscribe for such a long hiatus in posting, I haven’t abandoned this wee blog, I’ve just been wantonly neglecting it!

I have however been reading the blog ‘A Girl Called Jack’ recently, and I imagine any thrifty-minded folk from the UK will be aware that Jack has been making quite a bit of noise about food poverty here in the UK of late, and what’s more she’s actually being heard!

So, good on Jack whose blog – in case you don’t already follow it – you will find here:

http://agirlcalledjack.com/

Anyhoo, while reading Jack’s blog, I was reminded of why I started this blog and thought I really aught to get on and actually post something, so without further ado I’ll get on with just that!

The recipe I’m posting today is a light but creamy courgette soup, the ingredients for which were in part produced on our concreted area in the back garden. It’s not a large area, but it’s big enough for several tubs containing fruiting vegetables like Sweet Peppers, Tomatoes, Courgettes and even (fingers crossed for sufficient sun) outdoor Aubergines. While the other veg have yet to really get going, the courgettes have been going great guns and nearly every day I’ve been harvesting and cooking with them, which has been a most welcome and extremely inexpensive addition to the fresh produce in our diet. So firstly I’d like to direct the thrifty minded cook who has yet to make use of their own back yard to grow a bit of veg – but who may be contemplating doing so – to an absolutely brilliant online seed shop called ‘More Veg’. Please see here:

http://www.moreveg.co.uk/

More Veg are fantastic because they sell seed at incredibly low prices compared to most other seed sellers. Most packets of seed go for just 50p. You won’t get vast quantities of seed for your 50p, but it will be perfectly sufficient for a modest veg plot or patio area. Plus of course it grants you more 50p’s to spend on other vegetable seeds!

The second link I’d like to direct anyone who may be thinking about having a go at growing a bit of veg in pots next spring to take a look at, is this:

http://www.poundland.co.uk/black-bucket-12-litres

Where you will find extremely cheap (only £1 each) but sturdy planters – in the form of non-beautiful but highly functional black plastic buckets – in which to grow your patio veg. Just drill a few holes in the bottom for drainage of course, or use a sharp knife.

Anyhow, on with todays lunch, which was as said in part grown in our own backyard in cheap plastic buckets from even cheaper seed. Pretty fugal I’d say!

Summery Courgette, Pea and Mint Soup – vegan

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil (I used olive)
  • 1 – 2 onions, finely chopped
  • 2 – 3 medium sized courgettes, medium sliced
  • 8oz / 250g frozen peas
  • 1 pint / 1/2 litre hot water
  • 1 vegetable stock cube – or 1 heaped tsp vegetable bouillon powder – dissolved in the hot water
  • modest handful fresh mint leaves, finely chopped (I got mine from the garden)
  • 1/2 tsp white pepper 
  • salt to taste

Method

  1. Heat oil in a deep sided pan. Add onions and saute for several minutes, till tender.
  2. Add the courgettes and saute for five or so minutes more, until tender.
  3. Add the peas and stir in the pan, while heating through.
  4. Add the mint and saute for a further minute or two.
  5. Add the hot stock. Bring to the boil, lower the heat and simmer for around ten minutes until all vegetables are fully cooked.
  6. Take off of the heat and blend to a creamy consistency using a hand held immersion blender (be careful not to let the hot soup splash you)
  7. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  8. Serve drizzled with a little cream (dairy or non-dairy as preferred – I find Oatly oat cream the best non-dairy cream available) if liked.
12 thoughts on “Courgette, Pea and Mint Soup (vegan) – with a bit of a Waffly Preamble

  1. This looks yummy!
    I often feel like I’m also neglecting my blog- they demand so much time and love- so welcome back to the blogosphere… !

    • Cheers! I just need to be more organised about it. So often I cook something, note the recipe down, but everyone’s hungry and wants to eat NOW, so can’t be bothered to faff about and photograph it!

    • That’s nice to hear; I will endeavour to be a bit less lackadaisicle about updating in future!

  2. And there was me thinking I was the only one who grows veg in buckets! I once made a herb garden out of a Tesco delivery box that the driver left (sorry Tesco but he shouldn’t have turned up early and left the shopping!).

    • Aren’t buckets great? Once the plants get going you can hardly see them anyway. I like the Tesco delivery box! In the old house we also used to have an old bath in which I grew herbs. Container grown stuff is so easy to manage too.

Leave a Reply

