Curried Lentil Pate (vegan)

Curried Lentil Pate (vegan)

I wanted a quick savoury snack that I could eat anytime on bread, toast or crackers, but that wasn’t as calorific as cheese, peanut butter or my ‘go to’ savoury spread tahini (a middle-eastern paste made from sesame seeds.) A nice spicy lentil pate was what I decided upon – super simple, super frugal, and super tasty, I couldn’t resist spooning this out of the pan!

Curried Lentil Pate (vegan)

Ingredients

  • 8 oz split red lentils
  • 1 & 1/4 pints boiling water (approx.)
  • 1 tsp vegetable bouillon powder, or 1 vegetable stock cube
  • 1 oz vegetable margarine
  • 1 large onion
  • 2 – 3 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 inch piece fresh ginger
  • 2 – 3 tsp garam masala (more if you prefer)
  • 4 tbsp tomato puree
  • 1 dssp lemon juice
  • Salt and pepper to season

Method

  1. Rinse the lentils, then place them in a saucepan with the water and stock powder (or cube). Bring to the boil, reduce the heat, cover and simmer for about 25 mins. or until tender – if the lentils looks like they may boil dry add a little more water. Gently strain the lentils in a large sieve to remove all excess liquid, then return them to the saucepan and set to one side.
  2. Melt the margarine in a frying pan. Meanwhile finely process the onion, ginger and garlic (or chop very finely). Add the onion mix to the frying pan and fry for several minutes, or until the onion mixture is cooked and softened. Add the garam masala and continue to cook for a minute or two. Add the onion mixture to the lentils and stir well.
  3. Mix the tomato puree and the lemon juice into the lentil mixture, then season with salt and pepper.
  4. Once cooled, smooth the pate into a container and place in the fridge. 
  5. To serve, pile thickly on pieces of crisp wholemeal toast.

 

I borrowed and adapted ideas from this recipe:

http://www.parsleysoup.co.uk/getrecipe.php?section=starters&recipe=lentil_pate

14 thoughts on “Curried Lentil Pate (vegan)

    • Much as I enjoy it, Hummus is everywhere! I definitely think a few other pulses should get a look in 😉

  1. Hello, I’ve just found your blog and so far want to make *everything*! I’ve pinned most of them too 😉 Thank you so much for creating a wonderful blog x x

  2. TY! I’ve actually quit cheese now, so will no doubt be making more vegan pates and spreads to fill that ‘what to put on crackers/bread’ gap.

  3. Lovely! And thanks for stopping by my site. I’ll be adding more veggie and vegan dishes as the garden comes in this summer. Glyn

    • Great stuff 🙂 We’re just starting to grow a few more veggies this year, it’s so rewarding harvesting and cooking with your own produce!

  4. Made this today for my lunch. It was both delicious and quick and easy to make. I had no red lentils so used yellow spilt peas, which I mashed when cooked, and had no tomato puree so left it out but it was fine. I used the juice from one fresh lemon. I’ll definitely make it again but try the correct ingredients next time. My book group is coming for lunch next week so that will be a good opportunity – it’s definitely good enough to make for guests – thank you!

    • Thanks for the feedback! To be honest, I think split peas are probably even better for a pate like this as they have an excellent mealy texture and won’t be as wet when drained as lentils. I’ve seen Indian style split pea pate recipes online but not tried them as yet, I’ll definitely have a go now 🙂

Leave a Reply

