Sunny Honey Flapjacks

DSC_0417

Bears love honey and I’m a Pooh bear
Yum Yum Yum Yum

*slurp slurp slurp slurp*

Yum Yum Yum Yum
Time for something sweet

It’s grey and cloudy outside today, again. Despite a couple of days of Spring last week, it’s back to the constant drizzle of rain and sulky skies for us. I think it’s the rain and clouds that have been turning me to baked treats like this containing golden echoes of summer.

To keep costs down when baking, I usually (including here) use ASDA’s own brand “Soft Margarine”. At £2.98 for a 2 kg tub, it goes a long way! From what I can gather from the ingredients list, as well as declaring itself “suitable for vegetarians”, it also appears to be dairy-free (though as I’m not a label whizz I’d suggest anyone needing confirmation of that should probably check out the ingredients for themselves.) The oats I used in these flapjacks – as with all my cooking requiring oats – are from the ‘Basics’ range and at 75p for 1 kg, I’m fond of using oats in the Penniless kitchen!

Honey and sunflower seeds offer an illusion of semi-virtue to these chewy flapjacks, but be warned they’re probably only really suitable for those with a sweet tooth; I think Pooh bear would approve. My partner, who I must confess rather reminds me of Pooh sometimes, is very fond of these.

DSC_0399

SUNNY HONEY FLAPJACKS

Ingredients:

  • 170 g / 6 oz vegetable margarine (I use dairy free)

  • 170 g / 6 oz honey, or preferred liquid sweetener

  • 170 g / 6 oz brown sugar

  • 340 g / 12 oz porridge oats

  • 115 / 4 oz sunflower seeds

  • 1 heaped tsp ground ginger

Method:

  1. Grease a baking tin: 20 cm x 30 cm x 3 cm / 8″ x 12″ x 1″

  2. Toast the sunflower seeds in a dry frying pan, until they are a softly golden colour.

  3. Melt margarine, sugar and honey in a large pan on the hob. Mix in oats, ginger and sunflower seeds.

  4. Press mixture down evenly into tin. I use the back of a wet tablespoon to get a smooth flat surface.

  5. Bake at 200C for about 15 mins

  6. While still warm, with a sharp knife divide the flapjack mix into 12 or 15 squares. When cool wrap in foil or place in an airtight container.

10 thoughts on “Sunny Honey Flapjacks

  1. Look delicious! I’ve never understood why flapjack hasn’t taken off in America. I love the stuff, personally. Will have to give these a try for sure.

  2. These look and sound fantastic. I’ll bet my health-conscious teenager will love them. By the way, in the US, flapjacks are pancakes. I never heard of this version. That’s what I love about cooking–I learn something every single day.

    • Cheers! Yea, it’s funny how the same words have evolved differently to mean slightly different things in the US – biscuits is another one, it means a ‘cookie’ here, while a ‘cookie’ is a particular type of chunky and crumbly biscuit 😀

  3. They look yummy.

    By the way, the Asda marg you mentioned has whey powder in it, so it’s not dairy free/vegan.

    • Thanks for the nice comment 🙂
      As for the ASDA marge I use for baking, it comes in a 2kg tub and has no whey or other dairy listed in the ingredients, which are:
      “Vegetable Oils, Water, Salt (1.4%), Emulsifier (Mono and Diglycerides of Fatty Acids), Natural Flavouring, Colour (Carotenes), Vitamins A & D”*
      I think the smaller tubs of ASDA marge do have whey in. The only things I’m uncertain about with this marge are the ‘odds and sods’ like the emulsifiers. Having said that apparently most emulsifiers are made from soya bean oil** so I think it’s likely that this is a dairy-free spread. There are also the “natural flavourings” the sources of which are undeclared so there is a chance that they may be from dairy sources, but I haven’t contacted ASDA about those.

      * http://groceries.asda.com/asda-webstore/landing/home.shtml#/product/21137
      ** http://www.ukfoodguide.net/e471.htm

  4. Pingback: Week 5 – Naked Cycling, Russian Trip Plans, and Sleeping on an Island | Chris Mount

  5. just made these and firstly – mmmm…
    but holy crap – margerine and sugar! i used to eat flapjacks in the morning when i couldn’t find time to make breakfast…of course i read the ingredients, but i guess it doesn’t sink in just how much of something is in what we eat until we make it ourselves. i used maple syrup, and think they’re just a tad too sweet – i’d probably cut that down by 1/2 next time. but awesome, excellent, so yummy…thank you again!

    • Yes, they are sweet. I rarely cook sweet things any more, though sometimes, maybe once a month, I’ll really fancy something and indulge. Bread pudding is one of my go-to puds these days, low in fat, high in fibre, and plenty of fruit. Old fashioned British pudding, very leaden and dense a bit like a soggy brown brick, not the sort of thing you would probably find in the States or indeed in France!

Leave a Reply

