Lentil and Tomato Soup (Vegan)

Lentil and Tomato Soup (served with savoury cheese scone wedges)

Lentil and Tomato Soup (pictured served with wholemeal cheese scone wedges)

Another simple warming winter soup here. A favourite for cold weather in our house; the combination of red lentils and tomatoes seasoned with a little chilli sauce is both warming to the eye and the belly. Composed of a handful of store-cupboard staples, it’s also perfect for the end of the grocery buying week when the cupboard is bare! Increase quantities as wished to feed a houseful or to freeze for later. The recipe here feeds two hungry people, or three less so.

LENTIL AND TOMATO SOUP

Ingredients:

2 tbsp Vegetable Oil (I usually use olive oil, but it’s not essential)

1 Onion, finely chopped

1 or 2 Cloves of Garlic, crushed

1 x 400 g Tin of Chopped Tomatoes

4 oz / 100 g Red Lentils, rinsed

1 & 1/2 pints / 800 ml Vegetable Stock (I use Marigold Bouillon but any vegetable stock cube would do)

1 – 2 tbsp Tomato Puree

1 tsp Dried Oregano

Tabasco sauce or similar, to season as liked

Method:

Heat the oil in a large saucepan and add the chopped onion. Saute for a few minutes until the onion is clear and softened. Add the crushed garlic and continue to saute for another minute or two. 

Add the tinned tomatoes, red lentils, dried oregano, tomato puree and stock to the pan. Bring to the boil then lower the heat, cover and simmer for 30 – 40 minutes until lentils are cooked and pulpy. Season with salt and pepper as liked.

Ladle generously into serving bowls and then season with a few shakes of Tabasco or other chilli sauce.

(Nice and filling when served with savoury scone wedges or a doorstep slice of toasted cheddar cheese on wholemeal toast.)

6 thoughts on “Lentil and Tomato Soup (Vegan)

  1. Tomato & lentil is one of my all-time favourite soups. It’s so nourishing & filling! Your scone wedges look extremely tasty too! Have you posted the recipe yet? I’d love to try them. I’m sure I could work out how to replace the dairy x

  2. I have such a small time window of light for photographing anything in my otherwise dark N/E kitchen, I’ve been slack about putting anything up. Crazy really, but I’m going to have to sort out something in the back bedroom where I can snap stuff!

  3. Just found your blog through Frugal Queen, and my mouth is already watering! I’m always looking for new lentil recipes and this one looks delicious 🙂 Great blog, I’ve hit the follow button.

    • Hiya and thanks for the follow. I actually just started to follow you myself, probably via frugal queen too! This is one of my favourite soups ever, always a winner 😉

Leave a Reply

